

# City of Belmont SPECIAL STANDING COMMITTEE (COMMUNITY VISION) MINUTES

# **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

18 October 2021

ITEM	SUBJECT HEADING	PAGE
1.	OFFICIAL OPENING	
2.	APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE	1
3.	CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES	2
3.1	STANDING COMMITTEE (COMMUNITY VISION) MEETING HELD 2 AUGUST 2021	2
4.	REPORTS OF OFFICERS	2
4.1	ELECTION OF PRESIDING AND DEPUTY PRESIDING MEMBERS	2
5.	NEXT MEETING	3
6.	CLOSURE	

# **ATTACHMENTS INDEX**

Nil.

MINUTES OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE (COMMUNITY VISION) MEETING HELD IN THE RIVERVALE ROOM, CITY OF BELMONT CIVIC CENTRE, 215 WRIGHT STREET, CLOVERDALE ON MONDAY, 18 OCTOBER 2021 COMMENCING AT 7.16PM.

# **MINUTES**

# **COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP**

Cr G Sekulla (Presiding Member)

Cr B Ryan, (Deputy Presiding Member)

Cr P Marks, Mayor (Ex-Officio)

Cr N Carter

West Ward

East Ward

South Ward

# **IN ATTENDANCE**

Mr J Christie
Ms M Bell
Mrs J Cherry-Murphy

Chief Executive Officer
Director Corporate and Governance
Senior Governance Officer

### 1. OFFICIAL OPENING

7.16pm The Chief Executive Officer welcomed all those in attendance and declared the meeting open.

The Chief Executive Officer read aloud the Acknowledgement of Country.

Before I begin I would like to acknowledge the Noongar Whadjuk people as the Traditional Owners of this land and pay my respects to Elders past, present and emerging. I further acknowledge their cultural heritage, beliefs, connection and relationship with this land which continues today.

# 2. APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil.

### 3. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

# 3.1 STANDING COMMITTEE (COMMUNITY VISION) MEETING HELD 2 AUGUST 2021 (Circulated under separate cover)

### OFFICER RECOMMENDATION

# RYAN MOVED, MARKS SECONDED

That the Minutes of the Standing Committee (Community Vision) Meeting held 2 August 2021 be confirmed as a true and accurate record.

# CARRIED 4 VOTES TO 0

#### 4. REPORTS OF OFFICERS

#### 4.1 ELECTION OF PRESIDING AND DEPUTY PRESIDING MEMBERS

Election of office bearers will be conducted in accordance with the *Local Government Act* 1995. In particular Schedules 2.3 and 4.1 of the *Local Government Act* 1995, the *Local Government (Administration) Regulations* 1996 and the *Local Government (Constitution) Regulations* 1998 will be adhered to. Please note:

- The election of the Presiding Member is to be conducted by the Chief Executive Officer.
- The election of the Deputy Presiding Member is to be conducted by the Presiding Member.
- Nominations for the office are to be emailed or given to the Chief Executive Officer prior
  to the close of nominations, using the appropriate Nomination Form for
  Presiding Member or Deputy Presiding Member. The close of nominations will be
  announced by the Chief Executive Officer at this point in the Special Committee meeting,
  giving sufficient time after the announcement and before the closure, for any final
  nominations to be made.
- If a Councillor is nominated by another Councillor, the Chief Executive Officer is not to accept the nomination unless the nominee has advised the Chief Executive Officer, orally or in writing, that he or she is willing to be nominated for the office of Presiding Member.
- If required, Councillors are to vote on the matter by secret ballot, using the first past the post system (ie: place a single tick against their favoured candidate).
- Ballot papers will be prepared, with the order of the names being in alphabetical order (by surname). All ballot papers will be initialled (for authentication) by the Chief Executive Officer before being provided to Councillors.
- Councillors are to mark the ballot paper in such a manner that it cannot be seen by anyone else and return it to the Chief Executive Officer. Spoilt ballot papers can be replaced.
- The Chief Executive Officer will declare the result of the ballot to the meeting. The
  declaration will include the names of the candidates and the name and term of office of
  the candidate declared elected.

#### Item 4.1 Continued

 All records (as defined by Regulation) of the election will be secured and retained for at least four years.

It should be noted that if after the count of the above mentioned votes there is an equality between two or more candidates, the count is to be discontinued and in the case of the Presiding Member, the meeting is to be adjourned for not more than seven days. In the case of the Deputy Presiding Member, the matter is to be deferred to be dealt with at a future Special Committee meeting, scheduled within the next seven days.

If an adjournment is required (as outlined above) any nomination for the office of Presiding Member or Deputy Presiding Member may be withdrawn and further nominations may be made before or when the meeting resumes.

If at the conclusion of the second count an equality of votes still remains, the Chief Executive Officer is to draw lots to determine which Councillor is to be elected Presiding Member/Deputy Presiding Member.

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the position of Presiding Member. The following nomination was received:

### Cr Sekulla

As there were no further nominations, the Chief Executive Officer closed nominations and declared Cr Sekulla elected unopposed for the position of Presiding Member of the Standing Committee (Community Vision).

The Presiding Member called for nominations for the position of Deputy Presiding Member. The following nomination was received:

# Cr Ryan

There being no further nominations the Presiding Member declared Cr Ryan elected unopposed for the position of Deputy Presiding Member of the Standing Committee (Community Vision).

#### 5. **NEXT MEETING**

The next meeting of the Standing Committee (Community Vision) will be advised.

#### 6. CLOSURE

There being no further business the Presiding Member thanked everyone for their attendance and closed the meeting at 7.20pm.

## **MINUTES CONFIRMATION CERTIFICATION**

The undersigned certifies that these Minutes of the Special Standing Committee (Community Vision) Meeting held on 18 October 2021 were confirmed as a true and accurate record at the Standing Committee (Community Vision) Meeting held 1 August 2022:

Signed by the Person Presiding:

PRINT name of the Person Presiding: GEORGE SEKULLA